Blog five, literal or hypothetical

Create your own Blog topic based on some text, theme or idea that stirred your imagination in today’s classes.

Discuss the picture being painted from the words of this poem, showing evidence for the ideas and themes created

The Measure, written by Mary Gilmore, is a poem I read that allowed me to understand the concept of metaphorical speech, that is, taking what is being said in a literal sense and if that isn’t logical, then believing it is hypothetical. The images I created in my mind occurred from certain lines within the separate stanzas.

The theme of equality comes to mind as I read this poem; this is communicated through the title of the poem as well as the body. The line that this blog will focus on is found in the first stanza, “is hate the only lantern of the stars, and honour bastard but to scars?” This speaks to me about a measure of how time evolves, that is, stars are spread out and give light, they are always there and their job is always being achieved, so this means to me that they’ve seen everything that is underneath them – which is everything on the earth. They’ve seen what life was like 100 years ago and they see what life looks like today. They see actions, behaviours, how people love, how people travel, chaos, war, peace and much more. And despite what they see being ever-changing, the quality about stars is that their function doesn’t change; they have given light, they give light and they will always give light. But, is hate the only light that earth gives? I ask myself if the meaning of this is questioning whether or not all that there is now is hate, and because light reveals and guides, all our eyes are ope to, is hate.
One thing I admired about this poem is that initially, and early on in the first stanza, it was common for sentences to end in question marks, allowing myself as the audience to be open-minded for what was about to be communicated. And within the last stanza, those questions were answered, sealing the theme.

 

Stars Backgrounds

stars

4 thoughts on “Blog five, literal or hypothetical

  1. Belle, after reading this blog, I am wondering what other thoughts you had of this poem. While you have given a great analysis on the meaning of the stars in the poem, I personally would have liked to see more insight or analysis on the rest of the poem and the other meanings within it. I think the poem has a larger message, including what you have mentioned and more. Otherwise, well done, this is a wonderful analysis with a clear meaning of what the stars represent. I now have a real idea of what picture the poem has created for you. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hey Belle, I love that you had the courage to create your own blog topic as I definitely wouldn’t have the guts to do so. The question you have created also allows you to explore and come up with your own unique interpretation and analysis of Mary Gilmore’s literary work. I think that it is also great that you explain things thoroughly so that just about everyone can understand and digest your unique and insightful ideas about the poem. The only negative criticism I have is that it would have been lovely to have a sentence or paragraph that ultimately summarises your thoughts and ideas on the poem. Thanks for the awesome read!

    Like

  3. Annabelle, whilst I had similar ideas for this poem, you have extracted meaning from every crevice of the poem, and like Rachel (above) I am intrigued as to what else you think about the poem.
    I think you have a wonderful interpretation of the poem and the influence it had on the period of time. You have been direct with your response and it is allows anyone who reads your blog to have a deeper understanding or a different contemplation of what the poem is actually about.
    My only comment is, if you have more ideas buzzing around your head you should have kept writing as it could probably be a bit more bulked out.
    Otherwise it is a lovely read and very easy to read.
    Keep writing, I’m thoroughly enjoying reading your blogs.
    Best wishes, Erin 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

