Summative Blog

 

Writing has always been a part of my learning journey. Throughout my past English studies, I have written creative stories, poems, plays and essays. As I have now reached the completion stage of my first semester at university, writing has not only been a task, but it has been an enjoyable learning curve.

My experience of blogging my Australian literature experience, at first, did seem like a small assignment that was due at the end of every week. But the point of blogs, especially when reading our topic questions every week, was to engage with the author at a new level of depth that I believe, can only come across through analysing each piece. My blogging experience allowed me to appreciate the author’s intent, though it may differ from mine. Blogging allowed me to realise that simply reading a piece of writing once couldn’t give me a total understanding.

My first blogging experience was tiled, Important Insight. I learnt this week the way authors use their language to express their life experiences. During this period of the semester, I had read Deadman Dance, by Kim Scott, and I admired his use of imagery within the text. That is, he was able to express one’s connection to the land through the use of images.

My second blog described a tragic experience. A poem that I had read that week and decided to blog about, was the poem, We are Going, by Oodegeroo Noonuccal. And again, I emphasised with the author based on their communication of their connection to their land, or in this case, disconnection. The tragic experience here that I went through was a realisation that you can lose yourself and your connection with the land. Despite the land remaining, the spiritual connection does not.

My third blog was based on a piece that I viewed at the art gallery that week: Bus Terminus, by Jeffrey Smart. My initial perception of this painting was simple and plain; there was not much to it. But after a thorough look I discovered that the painting was quiet. It was so simple that it made me stop and stare, thus resulting in being silent. My insight from this experience was not based solely on this piece alone, but also on the fact that I was there with other people. This means different interpretations and a realisation that your perception is not wrong as long as you can provide evidence. I would consider this my most intriguing blog as different perception comes from different people. But different perceptions also come through the amount of time you spend looking at a piece.

My fourth blog was detailed and time consuming. It took a lot out of me to write this, as I had to compare two poems: A Mid-Summer Noon, by Charles Harpur, and Bell-Birds, written by Henry Kendall. I found this blog topic a lengthy process but the different interpretations that both authors displayed were appreciated. This was the most difficult blog of mine to compose, as I didn’t particularly understand the poems first off, so comparing them was challenging.

Blog Five was titled Literal or Hypothetical. My main insight from this weeks experience was to read a poem believing it is literal in order to find the meaning, but if that does not make sense, to re-read with a hypothetical approach.

Blog Six, my favourite blog that I have written this semester, was titled Double Meaning. I discussed the poem, End of the Picnic, written by Francis Webb. My main revelation was the fact that any two people can read the same piece of writing, yet gain completely different interpretations from them. These different interpretations can be a result of a life experience or what the eye chooses to see. This blog is what I would call my best creative blog. I used a photo of a woman who could either be seen as young or old, and the reader would see whatever their eye would let them.

Letter to the Editor was my seventh blog, and here is where I read the piece of writing with my mind already made up about what it would be like because of the title, The Prodigal Son, but to then be in shock when the reading experience was different to my pre-destined idea. I learnt here that a technique of the author might be to distract your mind elsewhere to distinctly communicate their point.

And finally, my eighth and last blog was titled, Is money our god? This final submission was based on the poem, The Cool Green, by Les Murray. Here is where I realised that it is okay to have unanswered questions after reading a piece. You do not need to know everything; sometimes your interpretation is better left as a continuing thought. This blog was my best critical entry, I believe, as it was written in the form of a letter. I got to experience here what it would be like to have the author in front of me, so my mind wandered and I thought of as many questions to help me to understand the poem, as well as questions to challenge the author’s perception.

Throughout this blogging experience, I believe my writing has improved in the sense that I have more of an appreciation into author’s minds and use this as a guide to how I analyse a piece. Blogging has helped shape the questions I consider when trying to understand meaning. Overall, Studying Australian Literature and Art, has revealed to me the concept that human experience can influence the way in which one composes or reads a piece of art, that is, the same piece of art can result in two different interpretations from two people will a different human experience. I believe our human experience is our life and the journey we take. And one’s human experience is revealed within our expression of art. The way someone receives art is directly related to their unique human experience.

One thought on “Summative Blog

  1. This is a very comprehensive and well written Summative entry Annabelle. You have made some real literary and artistic discoveries in the process. Well done! I liked especially your entries on Jeffrey Smart and Francis Webb!
    *Please attend to editing your work carefully. Here is what I have picked up:
    *My first blogging experience was tiled, Important Insight.= titled [typo?]

    Like

Leave a Reply

