Blog Three. Charles Dickens.

Write a paragraph describing your own city or suburb using some of the literary language techniques that we have seen working in Charles Dickens.

This week in my Nineteenth Century Literature Course we studied Charles Dickens and the way in which he uses language techniques to create a moving piece of literature. Some of the techniques he used that I highly admired were syntax, imagery and continuous effect. This week, I will construct a paragraph about my own hometown, attempting to use these language techniques as successfully as he did.

It is a chaotic town to say the least. People racing off to work on foot almost as fast as the buses travelling by them, or how fast they would be travelling if they were not caught up in piles and piles of backed up vehicles. Different professions pass me by. A mailman delivering bills to every townhouse that all look identical from one another, a dad doing the school drop off run, a fitness class led by their personal trainer, a dog walker with a hand full of dog leashes, a barrister in his suit all sharp for court, a dancer in tights walking as if gravity had no effect, university students with their heads down in study notes, and couples hand-in-hand. An hour before this the streets were quiet with not one car to be seen. The world suddenly awakes and takes no time in proving that. The chaos of this scene lasts well into the afternoon and ceases around nightfall.

blog city.jpg

https://www.lifehacker.com.au/2013/04/sydney-traffic-rated-amongst-worst-in-the-world/

5 thoughts on “Blog Three. Charles Dickens.

  1. Hi Annabelle,
    I thought I’d critique your blog piece this week as I enjoyed reading the short paragraph describing Sydney. I think your spot on in the description, especially the “…on foot almost as fast as the buses traveling by them, or how fast they would be traveling if they were not caught up in piles and piles of backed up vehicles.” Section. Back when I had to travel into Sydney near-daily I always use to think that I could probably get off the current bus I was on and just walk to the next bus stop to catch the bus in front of mine. I actually did one day but as a result, I was soaked head to toe and had quite a miserably cold bus ride home. I really like the variety in the descriptions of others you saw walk past, as I’m fairly certain I’ve seen all of those kinds of people on those daily trips. Not much I can say about grammar, spelling or wording I think you captured Sydney in the early morning quite well.
    Have a great weekend!

    -Adam.

    Like

  2. Hi Annabelle, this is quite a nice read! I do see a bit of Dickens in your story but not much, which is fine because what fun is in imitating someone else entirely. What I got from your story is a vibrant suburban where everyone is different as well as lively, which is why I personally do not think the image was the right visual for your blog. I see more of the Sydney city highway more than the suburb you described. It is just a little note you should take into consideration. Aside from that, your story is really great. Keep it up!

    Like

  3. Hey Annabelle,
    What a lovely, poignant paragraph. Your use of language is so simplistic yet so descriptive and you describe the heart of the city so perfectly. Your sentences are short but effective, your tone is gentle and calm and I love how you describe all the different people you come across in Sydney. Well done!!

    Like

  4. Annabelle, I always find myself smiling at your blogs. You simply always write in a calm and flowing way that makes me really connect and get taken on a small journey. This week however, you had me on the edge of my seat. The chaos you described through the use of syntax and long sentences was great. So very different to how you usually write. I love that you spoke of your world and the chaos in it, instead of trying to talk about Coketown. I enjoyed your ending, where you reflected on how the world used to be, just an hour before. Thank-you for another wonderful blog, keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

